A Taste of the Familiar: ‘bucks and Burgers

I’ve been pretty terrible lately in terms of writing new posts. Not a single new one in over a week and a half! I’m mostly chalking that up to a.) being busy with lessons and planning things for my trip home in a few weeks and b.) having days off for Golden Week.

Golden Week’s this fantastic holiday period in Japan that encompasses the last weekend of April and the first weekend of May. Because of some convenient rearranging of public holidays, it means that we have a three day weekend, a three day week, and then a four day weekend. If you’re savvy about using paid leave, you can get nine or ten days off and only have to use four days of leave. Last year, I did exactly that and jetted off to Hong Kong for some much needed sun and relaxing on the beach. This year, though, I stayed put in Aomori. Continue reading A Taste of the Familiar: ‘bucks and Burgers