watermarkedIMG_6548

Autumn in Aomori

I know that winter doesn’t technically start for another three weeks, but seeing as it’s the first of December today, I started perusing through all the pictures I’d taken in the past few months. My overwhelming reaction: good god, this place is beautiful in the fall.. I’ve always loved autumn. Between the copious amounts of pumpkin (which I maintain that I loved before Starbucks turned pumpkin spice into a total cash cow) and apple foods, the colorful leaves, and the brisk weather, what’s not to love?

Living in Aomori has only strengthened that love. To put it lightly, autumn in Aomori spoils the hell out of me. The pristine mountain snow in winter and the cherry blossoms in spring are gorgeous, to be sure, but for me, nothing beats what autumn offers. After more than three years here, I’m convinced that nowhere does autumn more beautifully than northern Japan. And here’s the proof.

The rock garden and pagoda at Seiryu-ji outside of Aomori-shi.
The rock garden and pagoda at Seiryu-ji outside of Aomori-shi.
Reds, greens, and golds galore.
Reds, greens, and golds galore.

Hirosaki Castle, during the park's annual chrysanthemum and fall foliage festival.
Hirosaki Castle, during the park’s annual chrysanthemum and fall foliage festival.
The torii near Sukayu Onsen, near the Shirakami mountain range.
The torii near Sukayu Onsen, near the Shirakami mountain range.
紅葉 (kouyou) means "autumn foliage" in Japanese, and Aomori's got it in spades.
紅葉 (kouyou) means “autumn foliage” in Japanese, and Aomori’s got it in spades.
Jigoku Swamp
Jigoku Swamp
Jigoku's water is thermally heated by hot springs, and it's got the sulfuric, "rotten egg" smell to prove it.
Jigoku’s water is thermally heated by hot springs, and it’s got the sulfuric, “rotten egg” smell to prove it.
Driving (or passenger-ing, I guess) through the Shirakami mountains.
Driving (or passenger-ing, I guess) through the Shirakami mountains.
The sun setting behind Mount Hakkoda.
The sun setting behind Mount Hakkoda. This is probably my favorite photo of those I’ve taken in the past few months.
Couldn't be gladder that the friend I was driving with decided to pull over. Our timing was perfect.
Couldn’t be gladder that the friend I was driving with decided to pull over. Our timing was perfect.

Is it too early to start counting down till next October?

2 thoughts on “Autumn in Aomori”

  1. I love autumn in Japan, the colors always amaze me although I never thought that Aomori would be as beautiful as this! I visited during winter previously and it was beautiful too! 😄

    Like

Leave a Reply

