Cooking Class in Senggigi (Or “I Ate the Fish that Ate Nemo’s Mum”)

It’s no secret that one of the things I love most about traveling is trying new foods. Give me some piping hot street food made with ingredients I can’t pronounce, and I’m a happy camper. However, until the last two years or so, I was pretty woefully inadequate at recreating those dishes when I returned home to my own kitchen. My culinary skills have developed by leaps and bounds since I moved to Japan, and during my trip to Indonesia, I decided to take a cooking class for some hands-on experience.

All of the fresh vegetables were either from my host's garden or the morning market.
All of the fresh vegetables were either from my host’s garden or the morning market.

Continue reading Cooking Class in Senggigi (Or “I Ate the Fish that Ate Nemo’s Mum”)