Winter Wonderland (Or, Depending on Your Point of View, Frozen Hellscape)

I live in a land made of powdered sugar and birthday cake frosting.

My street on Sunday morning
My street on Sunday morning

Winter so far this season hasn’t been all that bad compared to the frozen wasteland that was last year. We’d had a few warmer days that had melted a portion of the snow, and I was naively hoping that the gradual melt towards spring would be uninterrupted and without any major setbacks.

Snow, snow, snow, everywhere.
Snow, snow, snow, everywhere.

Ha. I wish. I conveniently forgot that February in Aomori is by far the harshest month, and Mother Nature did a bang-up job of reminding me of that when it dumped close to three feet of snow on the city this past weekend. I could barely see out of my kitchen window for the entirety of Saturday, so thick was the falling snow.

DSC_0400

I actually didn’t mind it all that much because I didn’t have reason to venture out for any extended period of time. It was definitely one of those instances that I am so thankful that I don’t need to have a car here. Digging one out of the snow would’ve made me a mightily unhappy camper. Some of my driving JET cohorts were decidedly less happy about the snowstorm, and I definitely don’t blame them. Aomori was less “Winter Wonderland” and more “Frozen Hellscape.”

I felt pretty sorry for my neighbor.
I felt pretty sorry for my neighbor. For the record, this was only Saturday night’s accumulation.

IMG_6574

That telephone booth is quickly disappearing.
That telephone booth is quickly disappearing.

In other random, inconsequential news, last Thursday was Valentine’s Day. I’ve come to love this holiday as a teacher, because I basically get showered with chocolates, cookies, and other delicious homemade baked goods from my students. And I baked up some strawberry-lemon cupcakes for my English club. I wasn’t sure how well they’d turn out as it was a new recipe for me, but judging by how quickly the forty or so disappeared, I’d say my venture was a success.

A sweet success
A sweet success

2 thoughts on “Winter Wonderland (Or, Depending on Your Point of View, Frozen Hellscape)”

Leave a Reply

