A Lesson in Total Lack Of Restraint (Or, How I Refuse to Live Without Oatmeal)

Right, so I’ve mentioned that I’m guilty of ordering foreign food when the fancy strikes me. Sorry, I can’t live on miso soup, rice, and ramen/udon/soba noodles every day; if that makes me a bad JET, then so be it! I was getting low on oatmeal, so I decided to stock up, especially since I’m going home for the holidays, and oatmeal is  my “detox” food when I come back to Japan after excessively and unhealthily eating, which always happens when I’m away.

Last time, I ordered thirty pounds; I know, I know, I know, that’s a lot of oatmeal. But in that order, I’d gotten other foods, too. This time, I wasn’t getting anything else, and since shipping is a flat rate, no matter how much you fill up the box. So in the true fashion of “go big or go home,” I ordered fifty pounds. Fifty. Pounds. Of. Oatmeal. (The company I ordered from is, after all, supplied by Costco. I figured I was just acting within their company aims.)

This is what fifty pounds of oatmeal looks like.
This is what fifty pounds of oatmeal looks like.

I’m thinking it will last me a good eighteen months or so. Excessive? Absolutely. Necessary? Almost certainly not. Did the Flying Pig employee who packed my order think I’m insane? Definitely. Am I ashamed? Not in the slightest.

And this is what I look like when said oatmeal arrives at my door.
And this is what I look like when said oatmeal arrives at my door.

2 thoughts on “A Lesson in Total Lack Of Restraint (Or, How I Refuse to Live Without Oatmeal)”

Leave a Reply

